A Short Visit to the Great Mosque of Abu Dhabi

I was in Dubai on 29 Oct – 6 Nov 2018 for work. During the weekend, I got a chance to visit the Great Mosque of Abu Dhabi. It’s huge, beautiful and majestic.

It was a fine, bright afternoon; around 36°C I think. We (some colleagues and I) were there for only a couple of hours (we were on the way to the Indonesian Embassy in Abu Dhabi, the Ambassador invited us for dinner, so we’re kind of in a hurry).

Most of the parts of the mosque are for tourists attraction; only small parts are dedicated for praying. The ablution place thou… It’s really beautifully decorated! Unfortunately visitors are not allowed to take photos inside that ablution area.

Here are some photos I took around the Mosque.

PS: they lend me abaya during my visit because I was wearing a sleeveless, knee-length dress.

PS #2: The golden pillars you see in the third and the last photos are gold-plated.

Leave a comment